The Exploits of a Nanny

It’s only 9 o’clock January 11, 2007

Filed under: baby behavior,baby development — S @ 2:41 pm

And the girls have already gone down for their first naps. Normally this wouldn’t happen for Rose for at least another 30 min and for Liz an hour, but Liz woke up really early this morning and I’ve been getting better at anticipating when she’s tired enough that a bottle will put her to sleep. If she isn’t coaxed to sleep in that prime time slot with a bottle, then she gets cranky and I have to spend the next 30-60 minutes getting her down. If she still doesn’t go down in that time slot than it’s almost impossible. It’s almost like the more tired she is the more drive and determination she has to stay awake. So both girls will probably wake up in a half hour. If I’m lucky one of them might sleep for a little longer. Liz never used to sleep more than 30 minutes if we weren’t on a walk, but last week she all of a sudden started taking hour long naps some of the time. Weird how baby’s schedules change without any apparent reason. Rose used to take 2 hour naps in the afternoons, and now she pretty much only takes 30-40 minute naps. Both girls will nap longer if we’re walking. Which is a big reason why I often will take them out for 2 hour walks in the afternoon. Besides, who needs a gym when you can carry 15 pounds of dead weight and push a stroller for 2 hours.

I have been with the girls for a month and a half now and I’ve seen them grow so much in that time. Both girls rolled over for the first time since I started with them. Both started eating food for the first time. Liz learned to sit up on her own, which she does really well, and I wouldn’t be surprised if she’s the type that doesn’t crawl much because she can stand pretty well with only a little support. It will be a while before she starts pulling herself up and walking, but she spends so little time on her back and belly that I really don’t think she’ll do much crawling. sometimes I think I should keep putting her on her stomach like I used to before she could roll onto it, but I’m not sure it’s really all that important that she crawls. She loves to sit and stand, but why not just let her do those things and help her learn the things she needs for walking.

I’ve become quite attached to these two little ones. I’m starting to think that I could stay with them for a number of years, and that childcare might be the best career choice for me. I probably won’t be a nanny for the rest of my life, but with a few classes in early childhood development, I could get a decent job in a nursery, or possibly even start my own day care someday. I love being a caregiver, and although I don’t sit there and get excited about going to work every day, I enjoy what I do, and I don’t dread it either. My days go by surprisingly quickly for working 10 hours. I’ve had other jobs where I’ll work 6-8 hours and it feels like eternity.

Rose has started being extremely vocal. She’s going to be a singer. When I sing something a little more interesting than a children’s song she gets a huge grin on her face and sometimes she tries to sing along. She’s also discovered the art of gurgling which she does as loud as she can. Liz has gotten so much better at being put down for longer periods of time. It used to be that she could only stand it for 20-30 minutes, now she can go 40-60 depending on how tired she is. She’s also learning to entertain herself. Rose has never really had a problem with that. She just hangs.

   
 

Leave a Reply

