The Exploits of a Nanny

Cursing the cold January 18, 2007

Filed under: baby behavior,nanny issues — S @ 3:04 pm

It’s been super cold here. Of course we haven’t had the really horrible weather that some of the country is getting, but cold enough that I don’t even consider taking the girls out. Days that we don’t get a walk get long for all three of us. The girls accumulate tiredness and crankiness throughout the day, and are worn out by the last couple hours. They also start wanting to see their parents. By the end of the day it’s hard to make them both happy, because often they both want to be held, and I can’t hold/comfort them both for very long. My most recent solution? I calm Rose down, put her in the swing with a toy to hold onto, and I bounce Liz on my hip standing in front of the swing so the girls can look at each other and Rose can see me and I can make her giggle with my funny faces. Whatever works. I miss the walks because it’s sort of a break for me. Liz will fall asleep without me having to coax her into it, and neither of the girls needs much attention. It’s a nice breather. So I’m looking forward to the warmer weather.

 

Leave a Reply

