The Exploits of a Nanny

Sleep and Sharing February 19, 2007

Filed under: baby behavior,discipline — S @ 3:27 pm

Rose’s started fighting sleep as hard as she can. She stayed up for 3 hours and 40 minutes, and fought tooth and nail till the last moment. None of my usual tricks worked. Usually if I hold her while I’m making lunch and she’s already tired, I’ll take her upstairs with me, lay her down and she’ll fall asleep watching me eat. Today that almost worked, but when she could tell that she was really drifting she started getting fussy, so I laid down next to her and hummed to her as I stroked her little head. She calmed down for a little while, but then she started getting fussy again, and this time she started wailing. The thing is that when she’s this tired, nothing but sleep will make things better. So I was finally able to rock her to sleep. Usually when I try to rock her, she arches really hard and gets really upset. But her crying woke Liz up 😦 Luckily, I was able to rock her back to sleep after putting Rose down. Rocking Liz back to sleep is a delicate process. She sleeps in a swing, and most of the time it doesn’t work, even though she hasn’t slept enough. Often her mom’s voice will becoming from the next room, and it’ll distract her enough that she can keep herself awake. It’s hard to tell when she’s going to go back down and when it’s a lost cause. Sometimes it’ll take as little as 5 minutes, sometimes as much as 10.

Another thing I’ve been meaning to post about for a while is the fact that “the grass is greener” mentality starts early! Around 6 months old, Liz started wanting the toys Rose was playing with. Sometimes, especially if she’s tired, nothing else will make her happy. Usually I gently tell her “no, Liz, that’s the toy Rose is playing with” and block her chubby little hand. One time I was writing in their book (I keep a daily journal of when they eat, when I change them, and when they take naps) with Rose in my lap and Liz was sitting facing us, and I looked down just in time to see her take the toy Rose had been playing with, the expression on her face was priceless. I think she knew that what she was doing wasn’t ok with me, but she was very happy about getting the toy. Sharing, that’s going to be a concept that’s going to be hard for Liz. She gets what she wants most of the time.

 

Leave a Reply

