The Exploits of a Nanny

Syllables and job leads February 22, 2007

Music: Arms of a woman by Amos Lee

Liz has started saying syllables like “ba” and “ma”. And she uses the “ma” when she’s unhappy. The other day she was in her exersauser and I was feeding Rose a bottle, and Liz started getting fussy, and I swear she said “ma, ma” and was looking toward the stairs. It made me so sad. I’m pretty sure she doesn’t connect the “word” as a label for her mother, but that it’s more of an innate usage of the sound. I wonder why that is? She uses “ba” when she’s happy or excited. “BABABABABA”

Liz was fussy again today while I was giving Rose her bottle. I had tried to feed Liz to sleep, but she wasn’t taking kindly to the idea and after an ounce she refused to eat any more even though half an hour later she was hungry enough to eat 3 more ounces. She knew that if she kept eating she would go to sleep. It’s amazing the will power these babies have. So I set Liz down on the blankets, supplied her with plenty of her favorite toys, and made Rose a bottle. So Liz starts getting fussy, just like I knew she would, but she’s not all out wailing like I thought she might. Instead she was desperately trying to distract herself. She’s let out a couple half hearted wails and then pump her legs a couple times and tug at a toy then repeat. Awww…

Daily walks have started up again. They make the day much more manageable. Rose has started arching her back when she’s falling asleep and since I have her in a front carrier, it’s kind of a funny sensation to have her head arching into my chest. She also does this low, guttural, sustained gurgle when she’s tired to try and keep herself awake. It’s quite funny.

I’m often asked about the girls when I go on walks. Most people assume they are twins. I’ve started saying “thankyou” when people say they are beautiful and stead of being awkward. I guess I haven’t contributed to their beauty in any way, but I do feel a bit possessive of them. But seriously people. They’re both blond and blue eyed. I’m a dark brunette with brown eyes.

I passed a woman with a dog and two youngish children one day and she turned and seeing Liz in the stroller said “Oh! two babies.” See most people think that I’m an idiot and carry my baby in a packer, and push an empty stroller… I love looking like a dimwit. So back to the woman. I turned slightly, smiled and said “yep :)” and started walking again. She followed this with the exclamation “you look good!” I turned back a bit confused and said thanks. I was turning back toward my walk when I realized that she thought they were mine and that I had lost all my pregnancy weight already. I turned back saying “oh! they’re not mine”

Today another woman with her own baby in a carrier and also with a couple kids in tow struck up a sidewalk conversation with me, and upon finding out that I was their nanny, asked “is it all week?” I guess she knows someone with a one month old who wants someone for a few days a week. Nothing like getting leads on the job. Not that I’m looking to move away from my current job, it’s pretty near ideal, but it’s interesting how once you have a job, others seem to line up at your door.

I have Friday off because I’m going to Seattle this weekend, so tomorrow’s my last day this week. Yippee!

 

Leave a Reply

